Hansen and Quinn Intensive Greek Book

If you are studying Ancient Greek and use Hansen and Quinn’s Intensive Greek text, you may find the material on this site of some use.

You will find here translations for the exercise sentences in each of the twenty chapters of the book.  Each sentence has both the Greek and the English for ease of use.

The translations offered here are not presented as definitive or as the formal answer key.  I have tried to provide accurate renditions to give other learners something with which to gauge their own work.  I would be grateful if you would alert me of errors as you encounter them.

19 thoughts on “Hansen and Quinn Intensive Greek Book

  1. merwen

    Phenomenal resource here, I sincerely thank you for posting it. I have a question about #21 on Unit 8. The final verb makes sense if translated as a future middle participle, but it looks like a future passive participle to me. Does the passive translate as “indict” with the genitive of the charge, just like the middle does? Or am I wrongly parsing this as a future passive participle?

    Reply
  2. bondarev42 Post author

    Hi merwen,
    Welcome, and thanks for the note.

    Re: γραφησόμενος, you are absolutely right, it is a future passive participle. The passive does indeed mean “to be indicted.”

    Hope this helps.

    Reply
  3. merwen

    Still plugging away. On number 6, I translated the present subjunctive middle 3rd person plural as “they are indicted.” Is that wrong? You went with “anyone is indicted.” I think I’m struggling because I’m not sure what to do with the masculine nominative plural relative pronoun “oi.” Can you advise?

    Also, in #6, I translated the demonstrative pronoun preceding “citizens” as “these” instead of “the.” Is that OK?

    Reply
    1. bondarev42

      Unit 9. 6. Let’s take a look at this again.
      ἀδικοῦντες γὰρ οὐ τῑμῶνται ὑπὸ τῶν πολῑτῶν οὗτοι, οἳ ἂν ὑπὸ τῶν ῥητόρων κλοπῆς γράφωνται.

      Present general conditional with relative protasis (preceded by apodosis).

      Protasis: οἳ ἂν ὑπὸ τῶν ῥητόρων κλοπῆς γράφωνται.
      “Whoever is indicted…etc” OR “If anyone is indicted…”

      Apodosis: ἀδικοῦντες γὰρ οὐ τῑμῶνται ὑπὸ τῶν πολῑτῶν οὗτοι
      “They are not honored…etc.”

      The οἳ is (to repeat) just a relative pronoun introducing a conditional protasis.

      The οὗτοι: this refers to the οἳ ἂν.

      But a question now: what to do with that ἀδικοῦντες γὰρ? Do you give it a causal force (“since they do wrong”)? Or a temporal sense (as I have opted for — “when they do wrong” or “doing wrong”.)

      Hope this didn’t confuse things. Let me know how you render the sentence, and maybe I can change my awkward translation to something better.

      Reply
  4. stuart

    Thank you for posting this information! My greek professor however pointed out some errors were in the sentences and wanted to know if we could point out the errors we encountered in the sentences here as they sometimes occur

    Reply
    1. bondarev42 Post author

      Thanks Stuart! As regards errors, I would be very grateful if you could point them out as you come across them. Any correction you make would save someone else from going astray, so please let me know.

      Reply
    1. bondarev42 Post author

      Hi Rafael, welcome and thanks for the heads up about the typo. Those pesky little accents can slip by you just when you least expect them. Please feel free to let me know if you spot any more.

      Reply
  5. ARCohen

    I would love to be able to give you credit for your work when I recommend it to my students. Can I call you something other than “bondarev42”?

    Reply
  6. Rjak134

    Small quibble about Unit 5, #15. The translation reads “they were sent to guard…”, but “ἐκελεύσθησαν” would be more precisely rendered “they were ordered”. “Sent” would correspond “πέμπω”.

    Overall, this is a great resource, very well put together!

    Reply
      1. Rjak134

        Glad to be able to make a small contribution to this resource – glad to see it’s still being updated, too! I also noticed that in Unit 8, #7, “ἔλιπον” is translated as if it were “ἔλειπον” (i.e. “were leaving” instead of “left”).

  7. Rjak134

    Another small one – unit 9, #13, “ἦρχον” is translated “ruled”. Given the imperfect tense, “were ruling” might be more precise.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

